# District Safety & Security Committee Special Called Meeting April 27, 2023

Location: Berry Center/Cypress Room Date: Thursday, April 27, 2023 Time: 11:30 AM

#### Attendees:

Attendees:	
Charles Ament	Cheryll Hill
Andrew Bailey	Melinda Hood
Wes Baker	Linda Hudgins
Jason Blackman	Scott Hudson
Debbie Blackshear	Teresa Hull
Tammy Blankenship	Suzy Hunter
Brandon Blount	Gary Kinninger
Larry Brehm	Jose Martinez
Grant Burnett	Eric Mendez
Joshua Carroll	Matt Morgan
Blake Coleman	Jason OBrian
Darin Crawford	Michelle Pastorek
Derrick Crowder	Brent Scalise
William Felder	Traci Schluter
Leslie Francis	Andrew Shanle
Jermaine Goodwin	Dawn Tryon
Sarah Harty	Kathryn Vasquez
Heath Hawley	Joel Weckerly
Cheryl Henry	

### Welcome and Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Scott Hudson at 11:42 AM.

Mr. Hudson welcomed attendees and requested that everyone scan the QR code to record their attendance at the meeting. He reviewed the meeting's agenda and introduced Drew Jones with Navigate360. Navigate360 has recognized CFISD for Excellence in School Safety and Student Wellness. Mr. Jones presented Mr. Hudson with a banner of recognition and additional banners have been provided for all campuses.

Mr. Hudson advised the committee that minutes of the two previous Safety and Security Meetings were in need of approval. He called for a motion to approve the minutes from the February 27, 2023 meeting as previously distributed. Gary Kinninger initiated the motion and it was seconded by Chief Eric Mendez. There was no further discussion and the positive vote was unanimous, the motion carried. He then called for a motion to approve the March 31, 2023 meeting minutes as previously distributed. Chief Eric Mendez initiated the motion, and Darin Crawford seconded. There was no further discussion and the positive vote was unanimous, the motion carried.

### **Closed Session**

Mr. Hudson called for a motion to go into closed session for the Intruder Audit Results and

Corrective Action Plans Review for twelve school campuses. Andrew Bailey initiated the motion, and Wes Baker seconded. There was no further discussion and the positive vote was unanimous, the motion carried. Mr. Hudson requested the livestream be suspended and will resume once back into open session.

# **Discussion Items**

# **Campus Audit Summary**

Mr. Hudson presented a summary of the State audits since they began in September 2022.

- 60 of 93 campuses completed
- 37 Elementary Schools, 13 Middle Schools, 10 High Schools
- 33 campuses have passed all phases of the audit
- No findings during Phase 1

During the time period of March 10 through April 27:

- 12 campuses complete
- 8 campuses passed all phases of the audit
- 4 campuses with findings

# Intruder Detection Audit Results & Corrective Action Plan

Mr. Hudson presented the findings of each of the twelve audited campuses.

### Action Items

# **Consider adoption of the Intruder Detection Audit Corrective Action Plans**

Once all the findings were presented and discussed, Mr. Hudson called for a motion to end the closed session. Grant Burnett initiated the motion, and Darin Crawford seconded. There was no further discussion and the positive vote was unanimous, the motion carried. Mr. Hudson requested that the livestream be restored to the open session.

Once out of closed session, Mr. Hudson requested a motion to adopt the corrective action plans as presented. Larry Brehm initiated the motion, and Blake Coleman seconded. There was no further discussion and the positive vote was unanimous, the motion carried.

# Good of the Order

Mr. Hudson explained that the Board of Trustees will be provided a report of the Intruder Detection Audit Findings and the Corrective Action Plans. He further explained that the Corrective Action Plans would be submitted to the Texas School Safety Center before the respective deadlines.

Future meetings were announced but are subject to change:

- June 8, 2023 Special Called
- July 25, 2023
- November 28, 2023

# **Closing**

Mr. Hudson thanked everyone for attending and called for a motion to adjourn. Darin Crawford initiated the motion, and Michelle Pastorek seconded. The meeting adjourned at 12:10 PM.